Baked Oatmeal with Fruit

Growing up I don’t remember having oatmeal. We did have cream of wheat hot cereal a few times. I became an oatmeal lover in 2006 my husband and I were at a conference and they served really delicious steel cut oatmeal. I began experimenting at home and discovered how fun a simple bowl of oatmeal can be with really great mix ins. As we started adding children oatmeal has always been a great healthy and inexpensive part of our morning. I think I may have served it too often because in the past year several of my children started to make the not so happy face when that was what was served for breakfast. In the spirit of truly enjoying food instead of just making it fuel for our lives I have began to serve it less frequently and test recipes. I have found a few breakfast cookies we (mostly?) all liked featuring oats. I’ll share that later.

What I am really excited about is baked oatmeal. I have seen the idea and it didn’t really appeal to me at first. Recently, on my mission to find new ideas for our real food crazy mornings I asked several other ladies about their mornings. All of them mentioned oatmeal. Around the same time I saw baked oatmeal with blueberries served at a group for mothers and gave it a try. I really liked it. Since then I have tried at least fifteen recipes. Here is my favorite! What I like in it, well, that changes day to day. I hope you enjoy this recipe and have great memories and fun in the kitchen. Even in the morning.

Rachel

For the Brown Box Family

baked-oatmealBasic Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients
• 2 old fashioned rolled oats – I am using Bob’s Red Mill Organic Oats
• 1/3 cup maple syrup or honey – I use Treasure Valley Bees Honey
• 1 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
• 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon – I used Frontier
• 1/2 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt
• 2 cups milk – I used Cloverleaf Creamery Whole Cream Top Milk
baked-oatmeal-with-apples• 1 large egg
• 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
• 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
Mix in ideas (Mix in before baking):
Berry: Simple mix in is about one cup of fresh or frozen blueberries, huckleberries or other berries. This is my kids favorite!
Banana & Walnut: Mix in two bananas chopped and 1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts
Apple Pie: Peel one or two apples, remove seeds and chop as you would for apple pie. Saute in skillet with a dash of butter and cinnamon.
Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Generously butter the inside of an 8-inch square baking dish.
2. In a bowl, mix together the oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
3. In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, if using, the milk, egg, half of the butter, and the vanilla.
4. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, until the top is nicely golden and the oat mixture has set. Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes.
About Rachel

Owner @ Brown Box Organics.
This entry was posted in Banana, Berries, Eggs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

