Kale, Fruit and Date Salad for Citrus Season

Kale, Fruit & Date Salad

Salads are just the best recipes to type out. Chop and dress, right? I am not much of a recipe follower, but I do love to record how I throw things together in case it comes out really good so I can share. This recipe was born out of an abundance of feta in my refrigerator paired with citrus which is in season and abundant right now.

Citrus is bright and delicious and I love it for a thousand reasons in the kitchen. However, I am not a big fan of eating it out of hand. I do enjoy mandarin oranges in the dead of winter and kumquats once in awhile. A grapefruit now and again is a great treat. The rest of the citrus in my diet is found in recipes like the salad below. I drink lemon water nearly every day. I knew the vitamins in lemon would help my immune system but a local doctor recently told me that it will also help break down calcium deposits that could form kidney stones and other things that could hurt my overall system.

I hope you enjoy the sweet and citrus recipe below!

~ Rachel

For the Brown Family and Brown Box Team

Kale, Fruit & Date Salad

Ingredients:

Salad:

  • 1 orange, peeled and sliced
  • 1 apples (thinly sliced)
  • 4 kale leaves, stems removed, rinsed and chopped
  • 1/2 cups walnuts (chopped)
  • 1/4 cups feta cheese crumbles
  • 6 dates, pitted and quartered or chopped

Dressing:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 pinch salt

Directions:

  1. Place all of the salad ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Whisk together the dressing in a small bowl.
  3. Toss the salad and dressing ingredients together. Enjoy!

Notes: Make it your own! If you don’t like feta try another cheese like gouda or gorgonzola. If you don’t have dates handy try dried cranberries. Salads are fun and easy to experiment with different flavor combinations.

About Rachel

Owner @ Brown Box Organics.
This entry was posted in Apple, Citrus, Dried Fruit, Greens, Kale, Orange and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kale, Fruit and Date Salad for Citrus Season

  1. Pingback: Know Your Produce? Preparing Kale | SOIL

Leave a Reply

